Choose Your Color +(234) 818 077 7458

About Us

Our Vision, Mission, and Values

Being there for you, listening & understanding.



The Asido Foundation envisions a Nigerian society in which all persons will enjoy optimal mental health regardless of age, gender, socio-economic status, religious creed or ethnicity.


The mission of The Asido Foundation is to promote mental health advocacy and reforms with a view to improving awareness, reducing stigma and discrimination and empowering persons with mental disorders and their families.


The values and principles are guided by global best practices as espoused in the National Mental Health Policy of Nigeria (2013) and the West Africa Health Organization’s (WAHO) Strategic Mental Health Plan (2018-2023). They are also in tandem with Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations; the WHO Mental Health Action Plan of 2013-2020; as well as the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD).

Specifically, the values of the Asido Foundation are underpinned by the principles of integrity, respect for human rights, equity and social justice, scientific evidence, community, respect for culture and religion, and service user empowerment.


Our Governance

Members of the Board of Trustees (BOTs)

  • Alhaji Mashood A. Yusuf - Chairman
  • Dr Jibril Abdulmalik - Secretary
  • Mr Meka Olowola
  • Arc. Biodun Fadayomi
  • Mr Babatunde Aina
  • Dr Cheluchi Onyemelukwe
  • Mr Usman Abdulmalik
  • Dr Olayinka Egbokhare
  • Dr Zacheaus Olofin
  • Dr Omotola Abdulmalik
  • Dr Ibrahim W. Abdu
  • Dr Taiwo L. Sheikh

International Expert Panel of Advisers (EPAs)

  • Professor Oye Gureje - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Professor Sir Graham Thornicroft - United Kingdom
  • Professor Olayinka Omigbodun - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Professor Olawale Ajai - Lagos, Nigeria
  • Professor Melanie Abas - United Kingdom
  • Professor John Ekore - Nigeria/Saudi Arabia
  • Professor Crick Lund - South Africa/United Kingdom
  • Professor Adesegun Fatusi - Nigeria/USA
  • Professor Biodun Adewuya - Lagos, Nigeria
  • Dr Julian Eaton - United Kingdom
  • Dr Akintunde Akinkunmi - Nigeria/United Kingdom
  • Dr Terver Chieshe - Benue, Nigeria
  • Dr Toyin Janet Aderemi - Nigeria/Jordan
  • Dr Cornelius Ani - Nigeria/United Kingdom
  • Dr Dauda Suleiman - Abuja, Nigeria
  • Dr Charlotte Hanlon - Ethiopia/United Kingdom

Patrons and Goodwill Ambassadors (GAs)

  • Dr Tony Marinho - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Professor A. Ogunniyi - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Professor O.B. Shittu - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Professor B.L Salako - Lagos/Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Major General A. Kigbu (Rtd) - Abuja/Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Dr A. Ogunlesi - Abeokuta, Nigeria
  • Professor Eme Owoaje - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Professor T.K Hamzat - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Mogaji Remi Babalola - Lagos/Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Engr Ismail Usman Sarki - Nigeria/Brunei
  • Professor O.G Ademowo - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Mrs Adaorah Ayoade - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Dr J.K Ladipo - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Engr Kayode Popoola - Abuja, Nigeria
  • Dr Bukola Adesina - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Barrister Misbau Adetumbi - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Dr Achiaka Irabor - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Chief Olusegun Rotimi - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Alhaji Debo Abdulai - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Dr Jokotade Adeleye - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Barrister Kaka Shehu - Lawan Borno, Nigeria
  • Dr Chris Aimakhu - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Dr Nkechi Emma-Echiegu - Ebonyi, Nigeria
  • Dr Mukhtar Ahmad - Nigeria/UK
  • Engr Dimeji Akinsola - Nigeria/UK
  • Dr Obeagaeli Ani - Nigeria/UK
  • Dr Temitayo Daramola - Abuja, Nigeria
  • Dr Zainab Imam - Nigeria/UK/Qatar
  • Dr Oladapo Okareh - Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Dr Ruksheda Syeda - India